Using the webserver and set this webpage online

BartPeters88

Hey all,

I'm a 26 year old intern at a company and my project is to see information and be able to set outputs on and off via the webserver of the PLC. I'm working with Tia Portal V11 and a PLC S7-1200 CPU 1215 DC/DC/DC.

It needs to be wireless because you don't want 30 cables going through your company and you also want to be able to communicate with it via a smart phone or tablet.

So my question is what are the possibility? Can I just host the webpage(of the PLC) online? Or should I connect the PLC to the company network?

Things to keep in mind are:
- Security
- Accessibility

It's my first post and I'm pretty new to the webserver and all that stuff.

Hopefully you can help me with my issue!

Regards,

Bart

Hi Bart,

I am a little bit confused (its still early here ;) )

You want to be able to control the PLC through the webserver. So you will have to connect it to your network somehow. It just takes one cable, not 30, right? If you want to separate it from your company network, you could put it in a different range to ensure no users that are not authorized can access it.

Are you wanting to access it from the WWW? If so, you will need to get through your firewall somehow. I would advice you to do this through VPN. There are many solutions that work great with phones and tablets.

Alternatively you can do it with port forwarding, but since you mention security, that is likely a no go.

Hope I am making some sense...

Hey boneless,

thanks for your reply. Ye I read something about the port forwarding and that sounds a bit... not secure :).

My tutor in the company already told something about VPN.

I was just thinking about what the posibilities are, and what are the pros and cons of each possibility.

and wireless.. Ye I meant to communicate via a tablet or phone and each PC without using a cable from the PC to the PLC.