WTP Filter Outlet Valves PID control

theafricana

HI.

We are looking at controlling a filter outlet valve based using a PID block in the PLC. the outlet valve will open & close (modulate) to maintain the correct level in the filter. the PID controller linked to a transducer or ultrasonic level transmitter.

Has anyone configured such a system? how can l come to have a fully functional control system?

Make no mistake, I've been scouring these posts for 4 months now to relearn PLC's and learn 5000, so I am keenly aware that pretty much everyone here is waaaayyy up on the ladder of brains and skill relative to me. Especially Nachtway. I say that with all respect.

Having said that, I used to service 1 to 3 MGD Water Plants for years and for gravity filters fed by a higher reservoir or via raw pumps, I have worked on rate of flow/ water level? maintaining control loops in those applications.

One plant in particular averaged say 1.5 mgd, and the raw water from a reservoir came in through a raw valve, from there to a flash mixer, floculators, then through 3 filters in parallel, before going to the clear well.

So lets call it 1 mgd average 24/7 for this instance. At any given time each filter might be flowing 694/ 3 = say 230 gpm.

This is a rough average as flow changed per demand, with time allowed for backwashing each filter as needed, per loss of head and/ or time in service, depending on raw water quality.... but I digress.

Point is there were rate of flow DP transmitters that plumbed off of orifice plates just in front of the throttling valves on the effluent side below the filters. (It has been almost 10 years since I did this sort of work and I am trying to recall the exact system.)

So for that plant and I must say, others, throttling valves were used to control rate of flow and the level above the filters was rather constant while maintaining substantial flow through the rate of flow control valves at all times.