help for timer problem--noob

Chilltrans

Good morning,
I am a junior high school student studying plc on my own to learn skills.

I, have a question regarding a problem with a simple circuit.

I am trying to make an on delay timer, and an off delay timer controlling the same output. In other words, I want switch 1 to turn on output light 1 after a 1 second delay. I also wish this light to be turned off after a delay of 1 second when turning switch 1 off.
This seemed easy at first, but I'm struggling.
Any help would be appreciated.

Thank You

How are you doing this?
In Function Block?
Ladder Logic?
Other?

What type of PLC or software are you using, if any?
Can you post what you have tried to do so far?

Thanks for the quick reply.

Ladder Logic
koyo PLC

I have tried succesfully to use both on delay and off delay timers, but i cannot get both to work on the same output.

Thanks
Chris

I have a few moments and will be glad to help you figure this out, but would like for you to do the leg work.

I am not familiar with Koyo but it should all be the same.

So rung # 1 you have your input (Switch) which will activate a on-delay timer.

Rung #2 the DN (Done)bit from this timer will activate your Output. (light)

So now a question for you: How would you now activate a off delay timer by using your output which would now be true?

"How would you now activate a off delay timer by using your output which would now be true?"

That is the meat of the problem. I want this to work continuously. IE. every time iI flip the switch i want it to turn on.

I have my program as you posted, that is, the on delay timer controls the output for the light.

[x1]------(timer1)

[timer1]----(y1)