Ultrasonic Sensor Reading

JeffPLC

Hello everyone,

I have a pretty basic question which I can't seem to find any information for. I have an ultrasonic sensor connected to my analog input (IF16) which is hooked up to a 1756-L61 controller. I can't seem to find out where exactly to read the incoming data. I have all of the following steps figured out afterwards I believe but I just can't seem to find how to view the initial values.
I'm fairly new to PLCs and I'm sorry if this is a very basic question, but I'm having trouble even locating documents online to outline this process.
Could someone help me out? Or even point me in the right direction?

Thank you

What type of PLC you are using is pretty important.

I know with Allen Bradley PLCs you can view the data table for the location of your sensor input (such as I:3/4) and that value will give you a binary word for the sensor input.

I don't know if this is for a level or not, but you would do something like, verify the container is empty, or at what you consider base level, then check the word for that input address, then set that as your max with SCP instruction.

Then get the value for a full container and set that as your max in the SCP instruction.

Look in the controller organizer and find out which module # your IF-16 card is. Once you know go into controller tags and and find the address and tunnel down into it. It's going to look something like this: Local:2:I.Ch0Data

It's Rockwell Software.
I'm looking at the channels but there's still no relevant information. All I see changing is the rolling timestamp.
Also, curiously, the module doesn't show channels 8-15 but shows 0-7 no problem. Is there something obvious I'm missing? The module is corrct and even says there is a match.

I believe that you can change the way the values are displayed from binary to decimal.
Click where it says binary next to the channel you want and change to decimal.