3 way contiuous

dpforum

Hi, my name is Danny & Im currently a student of relay logic. Just a beginner. I am on here to learn everything I can about ladder logic. I have attached a file of one of the problems i am currently working on. I am hoping someone has the time & does not mind checking my work. Im open to corrective criticism & or tips of a better way.

written version of problem:
double acting cylinder, 3 position, 4 way, double solenoid valve; continuous operation.
Ladder diagram: start/stop rung, 2 relays, 2 limit switches & 1 e-stop.
the cylinder rod will stay in position when the e-stop is pushed.

Please & thank you.
regards dp

3way continuous.jpg

What happens when the cylinder is between the limit switches?... looks like everything will stop, how about adding a latch to CR2 ? you have CR1 latched but not CR2

Also are the limit switch correct? should it be a held open and not just a N/O ?

also- if you start retracted, and then hit the extended switch limit, you will not retract again because CR1 never shuts off. CR2 can't energize untill CR1 is off.

Hi, my name is Danny & Im currently a student of relay logic. Just a beginner. I am on here to learn everything I can about ladder logic. I have attached a file of one of the problems i am currently working on. I am hoping someone has the time & does not mind checking my work. Im open to corrective criticism & or tips of a better way.

written version of problem:
double acting cylinder, 3 position, 4 way, double solenoid valve; continuous operation.
Ladder diagram: start/stop rung, 2 relays, 2 limit switches & 1 e-stop.
the cylinder rod will stay in position when the e-stop is pushed.

Please & thank you.
regards dp
After reviewing I can see that my logic is wrong:(

the problem did not call for a latch, but it is possible that it should have been written in too.
thank you