Flow Control

PaddyPower

I am looking to control a pump with a flow meter to pump a preselected amount of water. So that I can select for example 50L of water using a HMI and the pump will flow 50L of water then stop. I am looking for worked examples of this (Program), or any help or advise on the best way to do this. I am fairly new to programming:)

The pump will be a horizontal mount centrifugal pump 400VAC the flow meter has not been determined yet or PLC. Really looking for help and advise on this. You wrote " flow meter (if any)" could explain?

That does not narrow it down much as there are different types of outputs for flow meters. Digital (Pulse) or Analog Value.

The PLC you pick could also be a point of mixed variables for how you would write the program and what instructions you would use.

I am not sure if you are a student or not so I will spell it out in words to get you started and let you try and make the ladder logic yourself.

Here is an examples of a way you might do this with say a Allen Bradley Micrologix PLC Using Ladder Logic using 3 rungs.
There are many other ways this can be done though.

In my example the input to turn on the pump is a momentary push button or something that is not maintained.

And lets say that your flowmeter gives 1 pulse per liter.

Rung 1
You will need your momentary (XIC)input to start the pump with a branch extension around this. On the branch extension you will need a XIC to seal in the pump running output. At the end of the rung you will need the actual pump running output. Between your input and yout output you will need a XIO labeled as done from the counter you will install on rung # 2.

(This will allow your input to start the pump, the pump output will seal itself in and keep the pump running even after your input is false. (OFF) and the Counter NOT DONE instruction will break this seal in once the counter IS DONE.)

Rung 2