Direct logic zipped file

Handcraftedsince87

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello all,
Im new to Direct Logic and trying to figure out the lone DL PLC we have on site, and found a zipped file of the program it is running. I was hoping to open this and see the logic. My question is, how to get the zipped file loaded into the direct logic software I just downloaded for free from AD.com. Second question is if I choose to go out to the controller and try to go online, if I have to worry about inadvertently erasing the program that is loaded, and what the documentation would look like to a new computer with a fresh version of the programming software. The PLC is a Direct Logic 305.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

First, in Windows Explorer, doubleclick on the zipped file, it will open up the archive in Explorer. Click & drag to select all of the project files - then drag all the files to a normal folder (defaultly a Projects folder in the Directsoft folder) Windows will automatically decompress & save the files where you told it.

Then in Directsoft click on Open, got to the projects folder if not there, & select the project to open.

Also: If you downloaded & installed the free version it will only open projects up to 100 words (Frequently under 20 lines of program) for larger you have to pay for the key code.

Last edited:
Hello all,
Im new to Direct Logic and trying to figure out the lone DL PLC we have on site, and found a zipped file of the program it is running. I was hoping to open this and see the logic. My question is, how to get the zipped file loaded into the direct logic software I just downloaded for free from AD.com. Second question is if I choose to go out to the controller and try to go online, if I have to worry about inadvertently erasing the program that is loaded, and what the documentation would look like to a new computer with a fresh version of the programming software. The PLC is a Direct Logic 305.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.