Where to start?

Jguerrero225

Hello all,
I will start by saying sorry if this is a noobish question, or if I have posted this in the wrong section, but here goes.
I am looking to learn more about PLCs. I have some basic knowledge and wish to expand it. I am an EE and have about 4 years experience. I guess my real question is what is the most common brand for me to learn. Should I do Allen Bradley, Siemens, Fanuc? Also I am looking for classes to attend and would appreciate some input. Thanks.

Hi and Welcome to the Forum,

This type of question has been asked many times before so you might want to do a search on the site for this type of info.

There is a simulator at the top of the page that you might want to look into. As far as classes Ron Beaufort's PLC Boot Camp comes very highly recommended. I have never attended his class but would like to. I have doing PLC's for years and have 0 doubt that Ron could teach me several new things. If you do a search for him on You Tube you will find several of his Videos to give you a idea on his teaching methods.

As far as Manufactures: AB has a pretty big share of the market in North America but outside of here Siemens has a pretty good lead. Once you learn one it makes it much easier to learn a different brand. I am partial to AB but that is what I have learned on so I am biased.

If I were you I would look into buying a used small PLC that you can do some programming and testing on. If the $$ is coming out of your own pocket I would look for a product that has free software. Allen Bradley Micrologix 1000 & 1100 are programmed with RSlogix 500 and you can download a free version that will work with only those processors. You can find the ML 1000 and 1100 on Ebay pretty cheap. One of the forum members, Geniustraining has a web site plccable.com that builds PLC trainers. I would check his site out.

Good luck.