Water System PID Control with a SLC 5/05

JKS

Good morning, all. I suppose a little bio is in order, to start: I recently began this new job as the plant's PLC Controls Technician (I know... fancy title...). Honestly, this is the first time that I have ever been paid for this type of work, although I have been utilizing PLC's for most of my career. I am a Master Electrician by trade and schooling, and have mainly self-taught the PLC world to myself. Yeah, I know that can be pretty scary, but I don't try to do anything I'm not comfortable with, and we have an outside contractor that we bring in for any high-level stuff. Or I search here for great answers and explanations. The plan is to get me up to speed over the next couple of years while weaning off utilizing the outside guys. But I digress... Here's my current problem:

Our process water system is supplied by two 90 gpm pumps driven by 7-1/2 hp motors controlled by AB PowerFlex 70's. Generally, these pumps take turns supplying the water to the system, unless our pressure drops to below 40 psi, in which case they both kick in to bring us back up. Under normal conditions, however, the analog signal is sent to the drive from a PID. Everything seems to be set up Ok and working, although I think that the system could use a good tuning. Here are the PID's parameters (sorry I don't have screen shots at the moment):

Control Block: N20:53; Process Variable: N20:14; and Control Variable: N20:20.

Kc= 2.0
Ti = 0.1
Td= 0.00
Loop Update = 0.10
Control Mode = E+SP-PV
PID Control = Auto
Time Mode = Timed
Limit Output CV = 0
Deadband = 0

Setpoint = 4915
Smax = 16383
Smin = 0
PV = 4915

CV% = 64
Output Max = 100
Output Min = 50
SE = 0

The only flags that are enabled are: Timed Mode (TM), Output Limiting (OL), and PID Enable (EN).