Apprentices.

I would like to hear peoples experiences and thoughts on apprentices!

The reason I ask is recently it has dawned on the government here in the Uk that there is a very big shortage of them.
To that end they are now offering financial incentives for employers to take them on.
We are only 2 men - me and a very good electrician.
I do the technical work and the electrician does the 'wire pulling'.
We are both very happy with this situation as he has not the slightest interest in computers or controls and I love what I do.
(As an aside; I was an installation electrician but I could never hold a candle to the skills and beautiful work my partner does - his installations are works of art)

I had said for a few years that we should have an apprentice but there were snags.
The main one being customers not liking paying for a 'lad' to be stood about watching and them getting charged for him and the cost of his education.

As well as controls we do breakdowns and industrial installations.

With the financial help - we decided to take one on.
We interviewed several and it was a strange affair.
We of course needed someone with qualified brains - by that I mean high end education certificates that had to include math(s).
They seemed to love the chance of programming and designing but when installation was described, not many liked the sound of that.
I could see that they thought 'I have not stayed in school this long to wear overalls and get dirty'

So..... Apprentice No 1 started.
A very bright boy and his first job was helping disconnect and move a massive machine to new premises.
You know the type of job - disconnect a thousand wires marking and photographing and putting them all back in the right place.
3 days he lasted! His mother phoned to say he was exhausted and wouldn't be coming again, oh and could she come and collect his wages for the 3 days.

Apprentice No 2 was a girl.
She was also extremely intelligent and was an IT graduate.