PLC or RTU?

Hello, I'm interested in hearing your thoughts on weather to use a PLC or RTU for a water/wastewater Scada System. I'm currently undecided on weather to use Allen Bradley or ScadaPack for our out station controllers. I'm very familiar with Allen Bradley in the manufacturing environment so I'm naturally drawn to there products however not sure if there controllers would be ideal for a Scada system? Some of the things that concern me are power consumption. I've never used ScadaPack before so not sure what the pros and cons are. Majority of our sites have power with the exception of a few solar powered sites. We use IP/Radios. Any thoughts about the subject would be appreciated.

It really depends on several things:

* What you outstations consist of, i.e. are there complex control requirements
* Reliability of communications infrastructure
* bandwidth available from communications infrastructure

Typically I use RTUs for standard, simple applications e.g. 2 pump wastewater pump stations, water reservoir, flowmeter station. For a treatment plant, almost always a PLC. Depending on communications infrastructure available i may still have an RTU on site just to bring back data to the master station.

The reasons I like RTUs for difficult or semi-reliable links is that their communications protocols are simple and bandwidth efficient and i can log compliance data locally in the RTU and pull back to the master when the radio channel isn't busy.

Conversely, RTUs are typically not suitable for complex control.yeah they can probably do most stuff at a pinch, the feature set is not always there, e.g. PID loops, IO scanning, online edits. I'm not familiar with SCADAPack though. I know a contractor who hates PLCs and throws RTUs at everything. His clients are always having issues and don't get good value for money.