Red Lion, Data Station Plus

Hello everyone, just looking for a bit of help. I am a bit of a noob to Data Station Plus, but I have lots of Codesys programming experience. Here is what I have.

I have a Red Lion Data Station Plus with a Can Open option card to communicate with an IFM PLC.

I want to run a virtual HMI on a PC using the Crimson 3 software and control my operation running on the PLC.

My question is how do I start the Can Open comms on the DSP. Basically I have done communications between IFM PLC's and IFM HMI's using network variables in the past.

In the DSP, they are asking for PDO's and SDO's. My guess at this point, to do this simply would be to create Network Variable Lists on the IFM PLC. The identifier for the network variable in the PLC would be the added to the start address in a block under Block1 in the DSP.

If this is not how to do this, how do I go about accessing my variables in the PLC with the DSP.

I am guessing the Ethernet connection to the PC for the virtual HMI should be fairly easy to configure. But I may have questions about that as well.

Any help would be appreciated.

Crimson3.jpg

hi,

I looked into using CAN option card a few months back but the project never took off. I had a brief discussion with Red Lion tech support about it and what you have said is what they advised me.

To connect the DSP to a PC you just need to ensure your PC is on the same domain as the DSP, and the Web Server is enabled with all control (assuming you want to control it from the PC) under the web server tab on the navigation pane.

Hello everyone, just looking for a bit of help. I am a bit of a noob to Data Station Plus, but I have lots of Codesys programming experience. Here is what I have.

I have a Red Lion Data Station Plus with a Can Open option card to communicate with an IFM PLC.

I want to run a virtual HMI on a PC using the Crimson 3 software and control my operation running on the PLC.