Proficy Machine Edition and SLC 5/03

ProJewks

Hello,

I'm fairly new at using Proficy Machine Edition, but I have worked with RSLogix before. I have logic in a SLC 5/03, and I'm looking to create an HMI on Proficy Machine Edition. I am going to display the HMI with the QuickPanel View.

I have created a general layout of how I want the display to look, but I'm confused as to how to add the tags from RSLogix to Proficy.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

J

In the Proficy project Navigator window, under "PLC Access Drivers", the "View Native Drivers", did you create a driver using "AB TCP/IP"? By default, it would be named "Device1", but you can rename it.

Using that driver you use the same syntax for variable naming as you use in the Logix tag table.

Under View Native Drivers, I selected AB DF1. The 5/03 doesn't have TCP/IP I believe and uses rs232 or rs485. I'm wondering, if I have created buttons, can I link those buttons to the same naming convention as what I have on a drawing (i.e. I:1/00, I:1/01, etc.)

I'm sorry for being very vague. If you need more info let me know.

Sorry, I was thinking RSLogix5000, not RSLogix500.

When you assign a variable to the device associated with the DF1 driver there is an address field in the variable's properties window. When you click on the button on the right side of the field you get a popup that you can fill in with the address data. You can also type in the address just as you would enter it in RSLogix, for example B3:0/5.

Also, be sure that you select SLC500 as the PLC type in the driver configuration.

In addition, when you type in the address, Proficy Machine Edition won't turn a semicolon into a colon the way RSLogix500 will.

Last edited: