Cascading timers to control a sequencer

creroh

Hello. I am a student doing an independent study on PLCs. I am using a Allen Bradley SLC 5/02. What I am trying to accomplish is to step a simple pneumatic robot through 9 steps that would control its operation. Me and my partner started out with just the sequencer and a simple program to make sure everything was working. Once we were able to control the robot using the sequencer and a PBNO we attempted to control it using timers.

I tried cascading the timers and set up the EN bit to trip the sequencer. In my head each timer should have gone off and the EN bits would have stepped the sequencer through each step. The problem I ran into with this is that the timers would go off and nothing would happen. I tried to solve this by having each substantial timer turn off the previous one. This just created a recycle timer (which worked), but it isn't stepping through the way we need it to. I would just settle with the recycle timer, but each step needs a different time.
I apologize for the long winded explanation I hope it is clear and will gladly provide more information if needed. I appreciate your help.

So, at the risk of helping you cheat on homework , have you thought of using one timer and comparison instructions? When the timer hits 10 seconds for example you could have a comparison (equal to / greater than) execute a process. Then at 12 seconds another one. I don’t know if will work for what you’re doing but just an idea.

Welcome to the forums!

Firejo's suggestion is a good one. Another approach to sequential programming if it's based solely on time is to use one timer and a "step" tag (e.g. N7:0) in this sort of manner:

- Sequence starts: add 1 to "step" tag and start timer
- When timer completes, add 1 to "step" tag, move the next step's duration into the timer preset, and reset the timer
- Repeat