Logix 500 Int file overwrites itself

morphesc

Hi all,

I am an instrumentation student working on a PLC project and have come across a problem I can find no information on.

I am writing a program and HMI using RS Logix 500 and RS Factorytalk Studio to control the level in a water tank by manipulating a valve on the inflow of the tank. The program is run through a SLC 5/04 processor with one analog input and one analog output communicating with a differential pressure transmitter and an I/P transducer respectively.

I have a section of code in a tank level program that writes a user input set point value to a float memory location (F8:1) from the HMI program (RS Factorytalk Studio). This value is them moved to an integer file (N7:1) to then me read by a PID block. These are the only times the file N7:1 is ever referenced in the program.

The problem is that when I input a set point value the float file holds the value (0 - 100 scaled) and passes it to the integer file, the integer file holds the value for one loop and then rewrites it to -32676. This saturated my PID block and means my valve remains fully open.

The problem persists when directly writing values to both float and integer files in Logix 500, even after bypassing the HMI program.

Both myself and my professor are both at a loss...

Please help...

Thanks

Can you post the SLC's .RSS file? Zip it first.

Are you sure nothing else is writing to F8:1?

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum!

If you can post your code we can probably be of more help - otherwise we're just speculating. You'll have to zip it first.

But just because who doesn't like a bit of blind speculation: