Confusion with OSR

arnabbanik

Hi All,

thanks for such a wonderful forum. I am a beginner and I was playing around with instructions. I just randomly built the attached logic.

My questions is :-

On rung 3, if I am toggling the left switch, why is it not allowing me to latch on the right side?Shouldn't it be true, as if left is true, it should be true on the right?

If anyone can give me an insight, I will highly appreciate.

Thanks,
Arnab

you unlatch your coil right after on rung4.

(B3.0 3 is true one scan, so it will latch B3.0 2. On next scan B3.0. 3 is false, so it will unlatch B3.0 2.)

What is purpuse of rung 5?

The latch in rung 3 (B3:0/2) will latch for one scan only as on the following scan will 'turn off' B3:0/3 in rung 2 causing it to unlatch B3:0/2 in rung 4 this will all happen so fast your screen update speed will probably not catch it.

Steve

Note to self 'must learn to type faster'

Scan 1, Rung 2 - B3:0/5 is FALSE - since the input to the OSR is FALSE it passes FALSE to B3:0/3. The OSR stores the FALSE status in B3:0/6 (its 'memory' bit). Rungs 3/4 - since B3:0/3 is FALSE then B3:0/2 is Unlatched

Somehow B3:0/5 is turned TRUE

Scan 2, Rung 2 - B3:0/5 is TRUE - The OSR, since its input is TRUE and its 'memory' bit is FALSE it passes TRUE to B3:0/3. The OSR stores the TRUE input status in its 'memory' bit. Rungs 3/4 - since B3:0/3 is TRUE then B3:0/2 is Latched On

Scan 3, Rung 2 - B3:0/5 is still TRUE - the OSR, since its input is TRUE but its 'memory' bit is also TRUE it passes FALSE to B3:0/3. Rungs 3/4 - since B3:0/3 is FALSE it Unlatches B3:0/2

Somehow B3:0/5 is turned FALSE

Scan 4, Rung 2 - B3:0/5 is FALSE - since the input to the OSR is FALSE it passes FALSE to B3:0/3. The OSR stores the FALSE status in B3:0/6 (its 'memory' bit). Rungs 3/4 - since B3:0/3 is FALSE then B3:0/2 is Unlatched.

An OSR passes TRUE if its input is TRUE and its 'memory' bit (from the previous scan) is FALSE. Under all other conditions it passes FALSE.