PID Loop Learning

TL140

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello all.

Kinda-Sorta related to PLCs, but does anyone know a good place to learn about PID loops, applications, and tuning? I have a very small understanding after watching a few videos, but so far it has all been theory and not applications or numbers. Like I understand that the proportional control is used for bang bang processes like a thermostat I presume. From the material I have read, the integral part is like a reset tick rate. Still a little fuzzy on that because I though the integral was the accumulation of a function? And for the derivative, I honestly cant find anything too clear and have no understanding of its role.

Also, another question. Are PID loops mainly used with all analog components?

Thanks,
TL

Hello all.
Also, another question. Are PID loops mainly used with all analog components?

Hi!

I am by no means an expert, but in my opinion you are right. PID is used for continuous signals.

However, three-point-step controllers (step up-wait-step down) usually use a PI controller.

I just started using Matlab with Simulink for some controls simulation and it makes it a lot easier to understand. You might want to check that out.

The links listed above are good resources. Permit me to provide another. My boss at my first job provided every engineer with a copy of this book. It's been a good resource over the years and provides practical application techniques for PID loop tuning.

Are PID loops mainly used with all analog components?
Usually, but not always. I've seen temperature loop control done with a steam/coolant two-way valve where the output of the PID was used to vary the valve cycle on time. Not nearly as efficient as a throttle valve with positioner, but it can be better than nothing.