PC control

Eric01234

Hi all,

At my work I have been requested to retrofit an old pc based system. This system is about 20 years and the old hard disk is u/s. I want to first of all install a new motherboard + ssd which is no problem. The problem is to write a complete new program since the old program is not recoverable (so i've heard). This program is not all that long or complicated although there are about 6 dc servo drives to be controlled + temperature control and 8 pneumatic valves. The screen is used as a simple non graphic HMI.

What is the easiest/cheapest way to do this? I am completely new to this kind of programming but like a challenge. Do I need to install windows + programming softwear?

Thanks for any input.
Eric.

Sounds like a job for a PLC rather than a PC. How are the field devices being physically controlled by the PC? If there's some form of IO card in the original machine, that's probably well obsolete as well and you'd have little hope of finding a modern driver for it.

Sounds like this job needs a full functional specification to be developed and some design work done before you jump into this!

Hi Saffa.
Thanks for mentioning the driver problem.
I could leave the motherboard in but that still wouldn’t solve anything as the drivers were no doubt loaded onto the old hard disk.
Which brings me to your PLC solution, something I wanted to do, but the MD thought it would be easier the way I suggested earlier.
The good thing about asking here is that I now feel stronger when arguing my case for a PLC.
Many thanks,
Eric.

What kind of interface do the servo drives and temperature controllers currently use?

I am a big advocate of PCs, but I very very seldom recommend using PC based control in place of a PLC. Typically by the time you purchase an industrial grade PC system that you can rely on, you are not far from the cost of a PLC and standard PC.