Allen Bradley Software

Dpuck

Hello all,

New member with a fairly long first post.

I have some limited experience with troubleshooting and making minor changes on AB products from PLC5 up to Controllogix from a "Maintenance Technician" standpoint.

I am now taking on more responsibility at a new employer and am attempting to help fill a need as a Controls Tech on top of my regular duties as a Maintenance Tech.

What I need help with, is determining what software I need to write to Allen Bradley processors. Particularly Micrologix brick units and Panelview HMI's.

What I have on hand is Panelbuilder32 V.3.82.01, and RSLogix500 Starter Pack V.7.20. Neither of these will run on my Windows7 laptop according to my local AB rep.

I believe that the free version of RSLinx, RSLogix V.9.0, and whatever the most recent version of Panelbuilder are all I need correct?

If not, what am I going to need?

Thanks in advance!

What I have on hand is Panelbuilder32 V.3.82.01, and RSLogix500 Starter Pack V.7.20. Neither of these will run on my Windows7 laptop according to my local AB rep.
If you use a program to create a Windows XP virtual computer inside your Win 7 (using a software program such as the free VMware Player), then RSLogix 500 will run. You will need a valid copy of Windows XP to load into the virtual machine.

But you are probably better off to get new versions of all the programs so that they will run on your Win 7 laptop with no extra problems. According to the Rockwell Software compatibility chart, RSLogix 500 versions 8.40, 9.00 and 9.05 will run on Win 7 Professional.

http://compatibility.rockwellautomation.com/Pages/ProductReplacement.aspx?crumb=101#

Last edited:
Using VMWare was the first recommendation from a friend of mine that does controls for a living. The company IT guy turned that down immediately.

Thanks for the reply.

Why would IT turn that down? What does IT suggest?
Thousands use a VM to run Rockwell software (including your friend) - it works.