Koyo PLC 'Stage' system

NigelLawton

Can anyone help me re Koyo 'Stages'. I am finding these difficult to understand properly and my programmer also seems to be struggling. Does anyone know where there is a good explanation of how these work and are set up? Such details as when outputs within stages are generated and what happens when the stage exits are on my 'not clear on this' list.

We are using the DirectSoft PC development software.

I am a project manager but have come from a VB/Assembler/FORTH programming background. I find ladder logic and other aspects of PLC programming easy enough to grasp but these stages are a bit more obscure! HELP!

Thanks

Nigel Lawton

I'm haveing flashbacks! It's been 15 years or more since I've heard the word FORTH in respect to programming.. I used a Forth assembler to create a grafic simulation many years ago.

Anyway, stage programming in directsoft is like creating cells of code. The code is dead unless the stage is activated by some other code in your program. The best way to understand this is to draw a flowchart, breaking down the varoius processes/steps/stages that you need to create.

You didnt refer to the PLC model but it seems that the DL06 has the largest instruction set, (I think). Chapter 7 of the DL06 user manual has explinations and samples etc.. I would suggest going through it and it will eventually "click". There are also example programs you can download from AD's website.

Chapter 7: http://www.automationdirect.com/static/manuals/d006userm/ch7.pdf

Good luck.