Robot interference

RogerF089

Hi Everyone,

I am new to plc programming. I need some assistance in my project. I am using rslogix 5000 software. Here is the scenario :

Robot A picks up the welded part from station 1 and drops to the part rack. Part rack has 5 shelves. Robot B from station 2 will pick up the part from the rack continue the process further.

Now, there is collision detect but it only happens once in a while. The interlocks are also there. Do I need to put priority for 1 robot and if so how can I do that ?

Thanks.

Can you list the interlocks? I'm assuming the PLC is the cell controller and that the robots are slaves?

For each robot a interlock should exist that is true when the respective robot is clear of the interference zone. Before entering the zone, each robot requests permission from the PLC to enter the interference zone. The PLC then grants permission to enter if the other robot is clear. When the robot clears, it flags the PLC and that allows the other robot to gain permission. This facilitates a first-come-first-served scenario.

Are the robots colliding into the fixture or into one another? Also, what type of interlocks are you using...robot base limit switches, in-cell light curtains...which are both tied into the PLC as well.
If they are colliding into one another, then it sounds like the communication between the robots and the PLC is dropping out (for some reason) for just enough time to cause failure. It only takes one-tenth of a second for a catastrophe to happen.
Another scenario could be, a request(input) from robot 1 has come in too late and robot 2 is thinking its still supposed to be in the work area because the PLC hasn't cleared it yet. This is basically the same answer [Highlight]jstolaruk[/Highlight] gave you....didn't mean to step on your toes. If you are using base limit switches as interlocks, then maybe look and see if they may be a little out of position, a loose wire dropping out every now and then.