New to plc's

nv02cummins

Hi all,
I figured I would introduce myself before asking some questions. I am from Reno NV. I dont know anything about plc's but am working on a project that would possibly require one. I have some electica experience in motor controls and vfd's as all the electrical work I do at work is with motor controls.

Here is the project I am working on. I am building a pop up target system that uses air actuators to stand the tagets up. I will have electronic solenoid valves to regulate what actuators get air to stand up. This is where I think a plc would come in but im not sure.

I will have 15-20 targets out at a time but will only need 5 to stand up in one round. I will alternate between targets so its not the same targets every time. I need one target to stand up at a time and be up for 8-15 seconds then go down and the next one come up. Is this do-able with a plc? Is thier an easier way to go about this? Am I able to program multiple sequences into a plc or can I only program 1 sequence at a time in?

Aslo is thier any sugestions on what plc to get? It isn't something that will run all the time maybe 6-10 times a year.

Thanks
Nate

Ok cool. I have talked to a couple people that have systems like the one I am looking to build but they wont give out any info as far as plc stuff goes so thats why I am on here.

I have been doing some looking around at plc's and there's so many options is overwhelming. What are some plc's to look at? I have been told to look at the Click plc's at automation direct. Would that be a viable option for this project?

Welcome to the Forum!

This would be a good application for a PLC. I am partial to Allen Bradley PLCs, but everyone has their favorite. I do believe Allen Bradley is easier for someone new to PLCs.

You need to make some decisions ahead of time.

120VAC or 24VDC Outputs etc.