Pneumatic Cylinder Extend/Retract Cntrl - Help

skyfox

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello All,

I am no expert in valves, Cylinders, or any sort of Pneumatic controls, and in need of some help as to type of control valve that is needed for this application.

Currently, a customer has 6 pneumatic cylinders that are operated manually (Pneumatic Toggle Switches)but wants to Automate the operation.

Each cylinder has to be Manually activated.

1. Up Stroke (Operator turn off the down stroke Toggle Switch and turns on the UP stroke toggle switch.

2. For cylinder down stroke, turns off up stroke and turns on the down stroke switch.

What I want to do is find a control valve that I can accomplish this with 1 PLC Output per/Cylinder instead of using two outputs and two separate solenoid valves for controlling the Extend/retract strokes of the cylinder.

i.e., If I turn on a PLC output on, cylinder Extends.When it is off, it retracts.

So If I was to walk over to SMC Pneumatic, what kind of Solenoid/Manifold do I ask for?

3-Way Valve?

In the interest of safety, I want all cylinders to be at down stroke. I.e. Even if the cylinder is Up, at power off, I need all of them to be at the down position.

Sorry for the trivial question, but I have only worked with pneumatic controls that only required 1 control to turn things on/off as in when PLC out put was on, Device is on and when it is off, the device is off.

In this particular application, To Turn on, device needs an on cmd and to turn off, needs a separate off cmd. (i.e. Device does not go in to off state by simply removing the "ON" cmd"

Thanks for all the help and tips, etc.

Cheers.

If I were you, I would contact a rep for SMC Pneumatic and tell them exactly what you have said here. They are experts on the subject.

Hello All,

In the interest of safety, I want all cylinders to be at down stroke. I.e. Even if the cylinder is Up, at power off, I need all of them to be at the down position.