panelview 1000e

scottsull

I posted here about 5 months ago with a problem and I am back. I am a DCS engineer filling in temporarily for a fellow engineer who is in Iraq and who normally would take care of all PLC's. I have been getting by (barely) but now need some help once again. On monday I need to pull the existing program from an Allen Bradley Panelview 1000E to make a change. I have never done this. I have looked over some of my friend's notes and it appears I am going for a .pvc or .pvd file. I have panelbuilder 1400E on a laptop along with Links.
I also have Panelview32 on the same laptop but as far as I can decipher his notes it says to use panelbuilder not Panelview. Do I have the correct software? Is it real easy to do this? Is it easy enough that someone could give me a quick 1-2-3 this is how you do it or is it really involved? I seem to have no problem nowdays uploading ladder logic, editing and downloading it. Is it about the same? I have the original CD but cannot find a manual for Panelbuilder. I am about to read some from the on disk manuals but....
Thanks in advance for any and all!

It's been many years when I worked on a "e" series PV but I am quite sure you need the 1400e program and NOT the Panelbuilder32.

I think you can set the communication path using direct or through RSLinx. Once you can see the actual hardware on your link, just Upload and Download like you do for a PLC. You can get the manual/quick start guide from Rockwell's site,

http://www.ab.com/manuals/eoi

Look for a shortcut

On your start menu under panelbuilder1400e. It should be called winPFT or something PFT.

This is a quick transfer utility that simply gives you a popup window that allows you to pick upload/download or verify.

That is a quick way to tfr the program. This will startup rslinx if that is how you are going to do the tfr and take care of the upload/download for you.