HELP!!, I got to program a Fanuc PLC

guest_007

Hello everyone,

I've been doing electrical maintenance for about 10 years now. I recently took a new job and the boss informed me that he wants to write a program for a machine we are building. I know how ladder logic works and can read it, but I've never written a program before. Are there any study aids or anything that any of you can think of to help me out. I feel a little in over my head and i'm not sure where to start when it comes to writing an entirely new program for a new machine. Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated. This is for a Fanuc controller.

I prefer Fanuc to other PLC's as I think they are they most straght forward to program. When you get a chance, post the PLC that you are using and the software. I myself am most familiar with the 9030 series, the Micro 90's, and the old Series 1 (same as Koyo/Automation Direct 305 series and others). I generally use Logicmaster to program (I like DOS), as opposed to versapro and cimplicity.

Are you just writing the program, or do you need to configure the PLC and rack slot assignments also?

Here's how I start:

1). List all inputs, making a seperate list for AC, DC, and analog inputs. Generally, I'll only have one type, sometimes two, and on a rare occasion, all three.

2). List all outputs, AC, DC, and analog. Generally, I only use Relay output cards, but try to keep AC and DC on seperate cards. Only on a rare occasion do I have an analog output, if I do, it is most likely hooked up to a meter.

3). Determine the total number of input and output cards.

4). Assign the inputs and outputs to the corresponding devices. This would also include the "TAG" identifier, such as input 5 / limit switch 2 may be I05 / LS2. I assign wire numbers at this time. Input 25 would be 325, output 12 would be 412, etc.