MicroLogix 1200 question

tvlodek

I'm very new to PLC's, in fact, I've never used one and don't know anything about them. I have a project that I'm working on, the closed-loop position control of a servo-valve/actuator with the feedback provided by a RVT. The current system runs a program that I'm told, has a scan time of ~ 100 mS. My questions are,

1) Does anyone know what the scan time for a uLogix 1200 is, is it simply the cumulative instruction execution time? Can you write subroutines to minimize the scan time?
2) Also, it doesn't appear this PLC can calculate sine, cosine, etc. Does it allow for the use of look-up tables?

TIA

Welcome aboard

First, if you are new to PLCs, you should take a tour of the online tutorial Phil provides here on this site. It is very good!
Second, you need to go to this site for all things AB. The ML 1200 is described in literature you can download here if you have patience or a good T1 or DSL line. Most of the manuals are 2 meg+ in size so you have to have a fast connection or lots of other things to do while your dial up link pokes along like mine does. As for your need to do the math, well I am not sure of the instruction set for the ML1200 but I am sure someone here is and will be able to help you with your questions on doing sine and the like. But, sounds like you are in for some fun for your first PLC project, makes you crazy at times but it is worth the effort. Hang in there.

Do you really want to use a PLC for this?

Why not buy a hydraulic motion controller that can do this already?
By the time you get done you will have spent a lot of time re-inventing the wheel and you will not be happy with the results.
Some hydraulic motion controllers come with the sinusoidal motion/force generator that is required for testing. The updates are much faster than PLC scans and much more deterministic. In addition the motion profile can be plotted with 1 millsecond time resolution.