AB Message Instruction Help

Ok, so I've been reading through older forum posts trying to understand how this works. I'm more confused than when I started.

I'm trying to send a message from 1 PLC (micrologix 1100) to another (SLC 5/03) in order to achieve a remote shut down. I'm fairly new to this kind of PLC control...in fact I've never used the MSG function. At the moment I'm simply trying to get the two PLCs to communicate over RS232, which currently I've had no luck.

Once I manage to establish communications, I simply wish to send a write message from the Micrologix 1100 to turn on a bit in the SLC5/03. Eventually this will be done on a larger scale, with all the PLCs being networked via Ethernet. We're working toward installing a remote shutdown for emergency purposes.

Any help would be appreciated as I'm not even sure where to start!

Thanks.

Ordinary PLCs are not suitable for handling emergency situations . Either hardwire the emergency controls or use safety PLCs .

Paul

Agrees with Paul. Use message only for non-critical application.

It's going to be challenging to communicate between 1100 and a 5/03. If memory serves me, you can add a NET-ENI module to the 5/03, essentially adding ethernet ability to it or using an AIC module to communicate over RS485.

You mentioned RS232, which means to me the DF1 protocol but I'm not even sure that's possible between the two plc you mentioned. Really, I wouldn't go with this route even if you can do it. Go with the NET-ENI or AIC.

Let me rephrase that. For remote shutdown, not necessarily for emergency purposes. All our systems are set-up with hardwired safety relays. This is a back-up to ensure that in case of building evacuation due to fire or a spill, the machines can be stopped remotely.

The idea was to eventually go with Ethernet/ip. I was just trying to do it on a small scale before spending money on the NET-ENI. Maybe I need to bite the bullet on one first for the trial run.