Wonderware Inview Can't Read MSG Off RSLogix 5

Compass

Hello

My boss set up a read only message in Inview WindowMaker. I'm a newbie to this software. It's supposed to read a word from RSlogix 5 PLC5 ( of which I'm more familiar ) and display it in a numeric display.

We are not getting any error messages or indications that it is failing to communicate. However the numeric display shows zero at all times. Any advice? Even suggesting a reference might help, as I can't find MSG or block transfer in my wonderware manual.

What exactly is the address of the data register you're trying to read ?

MSG and BTR and BTW instructions are used by the controller to initiate communication to other controllers and module in their I/O system. They are almost never involved in communications to HMI devices.

The register is N192:31. I'm using WindowMaker on a GE PLC to try to read N192:31 off a Allen Bradley PLC.

Small error. I'm using Intouch, not inview. Hopefully people caught that since I did mention wonderware.

The message is done from Windowmaker, which is odd to me. In AB softaware messages are done from the PLC, not the HMI, but the message function exists in the program and my boss knows this software better then I do.

When I said BTR I was just using the shorthand I know. What's in the GE Windowmaker is simply called a message.

Wait, what ? Where did the GE controller enter the picture ?

There are some instances in which an HMI sets up a connection to listen for "unsolicited" messages from the logic controller. In such an instance there would be an MSG instruction in the logic controller, with the HMI device as its target.

This is very rare; I found some documentation about how to do it in InTouch. If there's already a MSG in the PLC program but you're adding a new connection, I don't understand what's going on.

Is this an HMI feature that happens infrequently, so that it would be a benefit for the PLC to control notification to the HMI ?

Last edited: