Micrologix 1100 Programming Doubt

tavoans

First, I'm new in this forum and I appreciate all the anwers that I'll have.

This is my problem:
I'm kind of new in my job, and my boss put me in a new project that im using this PLC Micrologix 1100. But he can't support me right now with the software Rslogix 500, and he told me that I can program this PLC "manually" with the LCD panel, but surfing the net I didn't find any subject about it. And this is my doubt, Can I program this PLC only with the LCD panel of the PLC without using the software from this PLC?, Please I need a hand with this troubleo_O

Add:
I did a ladder "program" in a paper, its like a 7 lines, using 5 inputs, 2 outputs, 2 flags and 1 timer. Can I program this kind of "program" using only the LCD panel?:unsure:, and if I can, can u provide me a manual of that?, thanks all!!

Last edited:
I think that you should forget to program the ML1100 by its onboard display.
Instead, use RSLogix Micro which can be used to program an ML1100 and is a free download:
http://www.rockwellautomation.com/global/support/plc/micrologix.page

On the same page is also a free emulation software so you can test your code without a PLC.

First thanks a lot for the answer and the free software, it will help me a lot!, but I can't carry my laptop to work for politics, and my boss cant provide me a pc on work, so thats why he told me that I need to program this PLC with the LCD panel, can I program this one?, or it will be so difficult?, thanks Jesper!

I think it is not possible to program the ML1100 by its onboard display.
No mention of this in the manual:
http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/um/1763-um001_-en-p.pdf

Maybe your boss is thinking about something like a "programmable relay". On these you can typically program it by the onboard display.