1771 IFE/C Analog for plc 5

the44

I have a tonnage monitor module hooked up to an analog card using a plc 5-30.
Analog Card is a 1771 IFE/C. We had the OEM visit to do calibration on the tonnage module, And found that we cannot display anything in the 700 range.
for example while tweaking the calibration pods slightly after getting a reading in the high 600 range tonnage display would jump to a value in the 800's. No matter what we did we couldnt get readings in the 700 range. The display is done via block transfer and displayed on a pv 1000e. The tech said there isnt an issue with the tonnage module as it dispalyed 700's with the unit he was using to calibrate with. just wont show 700 range when going through my analog card.
I am not an expert on these cards, So I was wondering if anyone here might have an idea as to why I might be having this issue. Must be the ife/c card but not sure why. Thanks in advance for any information

Have you monitored the actual input ( voltage or current) to see if it is jumping?

Can you remove the input from the tonnage module and input a variable test signal to the analog card?

Last edited:
if you have the entire PLC program file (RSP extension) post it as an attachment and we'll be glad to take a look ...

ASSUMING (gosh I hate that word) that everything "electrical" - and in the signal configuration is OK, then here is a GUESS as to what might be happening ...

suppose that the scaling for your system is non-linear ... in cases like that, the programmer will often program the scaling conversion factors in "steps" ... for example:

if the input signal is between 4 to 5 milliamps - then multiply by 1.2 ...
if the input signal is between 5 to 6 milliamps - then multiply by 3.4 ...
if the input signal is between 6 to 7 milliamps - then multiply by 5.6 ...
etc. ...

(naturally these numbers are just examples for discussion) ...

so ...