estemate program hours

How can one estimate the amount of time it takes to program a PLC? I realize this is a vague question, so forgive me. I am trying to come up with tools to help questimate the amount of time it takes to program for pricing purposes. Being a programmer I found that if I said 2 hours it would take me 10, if I said 10 it would take me 2. I have tried estimating time per IO, but that does not always work. Can anyone help?

Programmers I have dealt with in the past, base the price on 4 things:
1. number of analog I/O
2. number of digital I/O
3. number of sequential task
4. number of continuous task

I do not know what the price per is, but everyone seems to ask the same 4 questions.

Ken

The answer is "It depends."

I/O count alone doesn't give the answer. I have a lot of sytems with a lot of I/O, but has multiple PLCs for several identical processes. A system with a lot of communications and very few I/O may take more programming and start-up time. A system with hardware I'm not comfortable with can take several times teh hours as a system that I'm familiar with. A custoemr that is known to be picky and has a lot of trivial requirements specified will require more time to satisfy than one that is simply results oriented.

It ultimiately comes down to experience. No matter what, I win some, I loose some. One of the reasons I like to supply panels and field devices with my system is so there is enough mark-up that even significant errors in estimating time can be absorbed.

Itemize as much as possible. Number of I/O alone is usually very
poor indicator. Communication and documentation are usually
eating up majority of development time. For programming try
to determine things like number of programs, size of each program,
complexity of each program (you might have short program
that requires lots of thinking and testing), program dependance
on communication or handshaking with the rest of the system