GE Machine Edition and QP+ communicating with a PC or OPC server.

LesleyD

Hi, I'm new to ME and QP+ and have what are probably some basic questions about communicating between a PC and an HMI.
I am running ME version 8.5 on Windows 7, and have a QuickPanel+.
I'm trying to make a connection between the PC and the QP+ to access data, either in a SQL Server database or using an OPC server, or if there is another method to do a similar thing.
I believe to connect to a database I need Windows PC Logic Developer which I don't have, so have been trying the OPC server route, with no success.
I've tried creating a U-CON OPC channel and device to connect to the built-in OPC GEIP.ProficyViewIntegratedOPCDrive.V5. I get so far, creating and importing tags into ME, but cannot access the data in the tags, using the variables in ME.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.
Thanks, Lesley

I'm trying to make a connection between the PC and the QP+ to access data, either in a SQL Server database or using an OPC server, or if there is another method to do a similar thing.

The QP+ is not designed for this so it may not be as easy as it looks or even documented very well. However the QP+ is capable of being an OPC Client or server so that option is there.
The most efficient way of collecting data with the QP+ is by using the GE-IP Proficy Historian Software as the QP+ is by nature an Historian Collector.
Proficy Historian may not be the 'cheapest' way to go unless one adds software development time in the cost of ownership but it is by far the most efficient, fastest and easiest way to collect data into a PC via a QP+.

IMHO, If you really want to do PC Data collection other than Proficy Historian <AND> HMI it makes more sense to use a PC for the HMI, such as the PME View PC instead of the QP+.

GE Machine Edition and QP+ connecting to PC

Thanks for the reply.