PLC Virgin- Selection and Project Help

Kunim

Hello everyone!

I am a senior engineering student who is about to begin the final stages of his senior design project before graduation. Anyways, my project involves the selection and implementation of a microcontroller and I have no idea what I am doing. Here are the facts I believe to relevant:

I have programming experience in C and MatLab.

I have to program two rotary motors to track the sun as it moves throughout the sky, both daily and yearly. There are set equations based upon the time of day/year and latitude. I need to program these equations for utilization by the motors via a microcontroller. This means that the motor will be moving incredibly slowly. A matter of 180 degrees in about 12 hours (depending on latitude).

Here is the motor we plan on using:

PDE7 Solar Tracking Worm Gear Slew Drive

http://rtrengineering.en.alibaba.co...sion_Solar_Tracking_Worm_Gear_Slew_Drive.html

I will need a way to input the time, date, and latitude(can be by laptop).

Let me know if there is any other information I might be able to give. I am looking for a relatively easy-to-implement controller, as I have never done anything like this before.

Thanks.

We'd need to know what kind of motor and what kind of feedback it has to make a recommendation and the Alibaba page isn't clear on that. Once you know what kind of drive you need and what kind of feedback back you will have, then we can tell you the cheapest way to do what you want.

Oddly, they seem to offer AC and DC motors but not stepper motors, which I would think would be nice and cheap for this; just do one step every X amount of time.