remote operation of Powerflex via a PC

JasonV

Just pulled my first AB Powerflex 525 Drive out of the box and set up the IP address using Connected Components Workbench. My goal is to be able to control the motor drive via ethernet using just my PC. I'd prefer to turn the motor on/off and set the freq with a GUI, if not then a PERL script could do.

My research has failed to point me in a good direction. (Maybe because I'm new to the PLC world and am not using the right terms or searching in the wrong places.) Rockwell info seems to point me into buying more products (like HMI terminals), but I just want to use my current lab computer. Any suggestions on examples of this being done or references?

Thanks,

Jason

There are a couple of ways to do this depending on how much work you want to do and/or how much money you want to spend. Having said that either way (more work, less money / less work, more money) you’re going to have to do some programming.
You could buy HMI software. There is a lot of it out there including Factory Talk View which is Rockwell’s offering (which can be expensive). Another popular offering is WonderWare but I’m not sure what the price point on that is.
The other way to go is to go with “Advanced HMI” which is a freeware package but you have to create the HMI using application using Visual Basic. Basically (pardon the pun) you will be creating a software HMI application with embedded drivers to communicate with the PLC/PAC or in this case the drive. I have to add here that I believe this will work with a PowerFlex 525 drive but I don’t know that for sure (I’ve never done it). I do know that it will interface with a whole host of PLC/PAC’s. Worst case you could add a MicroLogix 1100 and have the HMI control the 1100 and the 1100 would control the drive. Anyway I have worked with Advanced HMI and I was able to make it work. I by no means am a software programmer so if I can do it, most others (well a lot others) can do it.