Very new to PLC

dip

Hey everyone,

I am very new to PLC and was wondering if any of you have advice on how to get started with PLCs. To learn PLC, I suggested buying a PLC itself and start messing around with it using programmable ladder logic (Hands-on experience seems like a necessary step). I come from a programming background already (mostly java) so even though ladder logic is visual instead of code I think it would not be an issue for me. The main issue I would have is the wiring (or anything physical). Any tips?

What is the best PLC for me to buy to get started (Relatively cheap I assume:confused:) ?

A project I had in mind is having a LED 7 segment that displays a quantity of 9 and then lowers down everytime a button is pressed until it reaches 0 and shuts off. Would this be a good project? If so, could you give me links to what I would need to purchase to start this particular project assuming I have nothing.

Hello and Welcome to the Forum,

Here is one way you can get started today.
Below is a link where you can download Allen Bradley RSLogix Micro Starter Lite Software and Emulator Software for FREE.

http://www.rockwellautomation.com/global/support/plc/micrologix.page

You can start getting use to ladder logic and emulate/simulate it running.

Then if you want look around on EBay or your local Rockwell Distributor and pick up a Micrologix 1000 or 1100 Logic Controller.
This same free software will work with both of these controllers.

Have Fun,
BCS

Here is another link for Automation Direct.

http://www.automationdirect.com/adc...oller_Software/CLICK_PLC_Programming_Software

You can download the CLICK PLC programing software for FREE from this site also.
This software is a bit different from the first I linked you too but is also ladder logic.
The Click PLC is pretty inexpensive if you decide you want to pick one up to have as a trainer.

You can also check out this website for Industrial Concepts.

http://www.plccable.com/