RSLogix5000 - how to know what I/O is being used - spare ?

leonlai

Hello

In RSLogix5000, I have multiple 1756 backplane with its PLC & I/O Cards, how do I check how many spare or used Input or Ouput !?

Thanks

Hi

One way is goto the controller tags and last say you have a input card in slot 1
It would show up in your tags as local:1:I.data
Right click on the data word and then press go to cross reference
Then goto the base tag and double click to sort them. You can then look through them and this will show you if any one is not in the list they are not used as bits
Be careful and make sure the entire word is not mapped to bits

Donnchadh

Donnchadh,

WHen I go to a specific tag and cross reference, it only show up it specific tag, It does not list out all of unused or spare I/O.

im new in RSLogix 5000, while in RSlogix500, I can go and see which Input are online !

One way would be to go to the cabinet and see what IO you have unused (no field wires landed). This involves going to the cabinet, but it is most likely to be the fastest method.

I feel you pain

Formerly, in logic 500 a simple cross-reference report would show what I/O was used and where.

Now in Logic 5000, and the multitude options of Ethernet/IP, connectivity... that simple report does not exist.

I would pay a third party developer to come up with a utility to look at all configured I/O to see if it was used directly, or via alias. (opportunity)

Or, I will just have to wait for my good friends at RA to add this valued feature.

Regards

There's a round about way that RSLogix5000 will tell you this information. When you are in the ladder editor and double click the tag name, and then drill down to the individual bits, grey ones are in use and white ones are not. It will also tell you if it's being aliased denoted by the *. It also tells you if the whole dint is being used somewhere as well, which can be handy.

tagSelect.jpg