How many datapoints do you monitor.

BegaCheese

Hi all.

This is my first post on the forum so be kind to me. I work in a factory environment where we have around 60 monitored PLC's (Mainly AB), and of these, around 500 tags are logged to a historian, most at either 1sec intervals or delta.

So, my question is..

Is this a lot of monitored tags compared to other industries out there (PLC's to tag ratio). Could some of you give me an idea of how many PLC tags are historized at your company? (I don't need to know which company you work for, I'm not that nosey ;-) This will give me an idea of where we sit in the scale of it all.

Cheers.

5000 and some change. 11 years ago, I'm sure it has grown since then.

500 would be a small installation as I'm sure you will see in the coming posts.

Last edited:
Around 100 PLC's.

Process part of the plant we have several thousand data points being logged continuously. Temperatures, states, stepnr's, etc.
These are logged in various ways, some in WinCC, some in Historian.

Packaging part of the plant we have about 2000 logged on change.
These are logged to a csv-file, then ported to MySQL. The csv is limited in size, the SQL not so much.
These are mostly parameters, some are states/stepnr's. We set it up because sparkies were lying to us about what they changed during their 'troubleshooting'.
In the packaging part we do the same for alarms on our fillers. These are about 15000 total.

Currently no logging on our Rockwell systems, haven't had the time yet to tinker with logging on those.