factory talk on top display

Plarnold

I'm a lowly maintenance tech. so I know this question is going to seem second nature to most here. but I've been asked to do some programming and im giving it a shot. I'm working rs5000 and factory talk studio view 5.0. I need to have a small screen with an acknowledge button pop up when an event happens. I've created the screen added my acknowledge pb tag. ive tried different ways to do my logic but keep getting errors. I know this is probably simple to most but im stuck. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Give us some more details about the errors you are receiving. If you can take a screenshot and post it to the thread, that will be helpful. When you reply, look at the bottom of this window and click "Go Advanced" and find the options to "attach file".

Welcome to the forum!

the error at the hmi shows up after when I try to use any button to try to go to another screen "goto PB unable to open screen". this is of course after ive added new logic to try and get an event to remotely open an "event acknowledge screen"

IMG_1779.JPG

The message is slightly truncated, but I think its trying to tell you that the current screen is under PLC control. In that case, the navigation buttons won't work. You have to release PLC control of the PV screens. Set the PLC controlled screen tag to zero.

jkerekes is right - the full text to that error is "Unable to open display. Display change is currently controlled remotely" i.e., from the PLC. You've presumably found the link to change a screen using a PLC tag, but as long as that tag is still calling a screen, the HMI won't allow any other screen to be selected.