liability insurance for PLC programmers

slow_poke

S
This question is mostly for people in my area Montreal, Quebec, Canada. Where can I find an insurance company willing to insure automation technicians/PLC programmers. When I first opened my company back in '98 I was with Lloyd's of London. 1 million coverage for about $1900. They got out of the professional liability cover about 3 years ago. I've gone through every possible channel and have had little success. I've never had a claim and I've been working in this field for 20 years. I also have the educational background. If anyone can give me an idea where to find insurance it would be greatly appreciated.

The problem with your insurance maybe the lack of expierance by the various brokerage houses with your line of work. Another issue is that the rate you stated, $1,900.00 per $1,000,000.00 (CA funds) leaves little for the agent to get a worthy comission from the carrier.

I would suggest trying the larger brokerage firms. You may raise intrest by offering to place all of your insurance needs with one agency.

Just my thoughts on the subject....

Mike.

I admit I don't really know anything about CA's legal system, but for $1900 hire a lawyer to setup your company to be better insulated from liability. Here in the US the right combination of LLP's LLC's and S corps can make liability insurance a non-issue, though maybe not so ethical...

My $1,000,000/$2,000,000 liability insurance runs about $350.00 USD, of which a good chunk of it is a no fault clause, where if anyone clains I did (or didn't) do something, it will pay them up to $x,000. this includes all types of stuph. like spilling coffee on the carpet.

Locally, any insurance agent has liability. I have never been asked about it in any of the engineering projects that I've done, going back to 70's.

regards......casey