One-Shot Latch equivalent in FBD (RSLOGIX 5000)

snoochems

I would like to be able to set a bit on with logic, and then be able to turn it off somewhere else in the code. This is really easy in ladder:

|---|XIC|---|ONS|------------(OTL)---|
TAG1 TAG2

TAG1 can be used to set TAG2, however, tag two can be unlatched elsewhere in the code.

I'm struggling to achieve the same in a Function Block Diagram.

In FBD, the block attached to the OREF for TAG2 will constantly stay keep the tag turned on.

I'm not experienced with FBD, so I'm hoping I'm just missing something simple.

Not sure about Rockwell but you need to use a "Positive Transition" or "Trigger".
if input true ---> P_Trigger
P_Trigger.q -----> SET (whatever your latch is).
This can also be combined in a single network (rung).

The answers are already posted on this site.
It is a mater of searching.

Not just on this site, the exact instructions are listed right in the RSLogix Help. Help | Instruction Help. Under Bit Instructions if you can't find it from the Help file.

I have tried searching. I have looked through manuals etc.

If the answer is using something like a rising edge trigger into a set/reset block, it doesn't work as I need it to. I need to be able to ddirectly turn on/off TAG2 on other parts of the program. The output of the set/reset block holds the value and writes to the OREF for TAG2...

... I'll post some code tomorrow...

I have tried searching. I have looked through manuals etc.

If the answer is using something like a rising edge trigger into a set/reset block, it doesn't work as I need it to. I need to be able to ddirectly turn on/off TAG2 on other parts of the program. The output of the set/reset block holds the value and writes to the OREF for TAG2...

... I'll post some code tomorrow...
And why doesn't Set/Reset work?
You can still turn them on/off from elsewhere.
Why must you use FBD for this anyway? If you have perfectly valid LAD logic, why not use that?