DL405 Reading Analog Inputs - DirectSOFT405

Hi All,

I'm brand new to DirectSOFT 5, and fairly new to PLC programming in general, so go easy. I was handed a program with no information on the rack configuration (I'm trying to get that now), but I had some questions about how the PLC handles analog input.

In the attached picture, it appears to me that an input bit closes, and the PLC loads the raw analog value into the accumulator. The subsequent MULB, DIVB and ADDB blocks scale the input, and the desired value is copied from the accumulator to V-memory where it is read by the SCADA system.

Questions:

1) How does the PLC know which input to read? Is it just smart enough to know that when X15 = 1, read a certain analog input and put it into the accumulator?

2) Is the PLC also smart enough to clear the accumulator to make way for the next input?

I apologize profusely for my ignorance, and thank you in advance for your help.

sample rungs.jpg

There would have been a point, probably in the rung just before these, where the actual binary raw value was loaded into the accumulator. Look for an LDF command. The scaling is slightly different based on the input (X15 or X16). I'm guessing that the analog card is in the first slot and they are using the channel select bits (X15, X16). Can you zip the entire project and post it?

Oh, and please state the actual 405 CPU type, the analog card type and the slot it is installed in.

Last edited:
Bernie,

Attached is the .prj file. The CPU type is 450. Also, I see the LDF block, but according to the help file the LDF block:

The Load Formatted instruction loads 1-32 consecutive bits from discrete memory locations into the accumulator. The instruction requires a starting location (Aaaa) and the number of bits (Kbbb) to be loaded. Unused accumulator bit locations are set to zero.