Fish outta' water

motosman1

Please bear with me. At 54 yrs old, I have made a huge career change. Life-long mechanic is now apprenticing for electrical and PLC programming in the industrial water purification business. I have always worked with my hands, instead of a keyboard/mouse, allowing me to see almost instantaneous results after the turn of a screw. Writing an entire program, in a language I've never seen, for equipment I didn't know existed, is very daunting and overwhelming. But, I refuse to give up! As an automotive and Harley-Davidson technician I excelled to the top of my peer set. I am as computer literate as need-be to get the job done, but unlike my kids I did not "grow up" with computers. In the first 60 days I have become more familiar with a computer than I ever imagined, but am still sorting out things like IP addresses, "pinging", etc...We use exclusively A-B products (don't know why). The guy I'm working under is a self-taught, highly motivated "wonder" (in my and my co-workers eyes, at least) with 7 yrs. experience. However, in his defense, he is not a "teacher". I have been getting bits and pieces of valuable training but on a need-to-know basis. Here's my issue: I know that there are a couple different XL spreadsheets (discrete and I/O addresses), a ladder logic program for the PLC and a Red Lion HMI that all need to be configured and work in conjunction with each other. I'm having a hard time seeing the big picture, as in what should be the first step and how it is used to configure the rest of the job. I have already purchased the "PLC TUTOR" book by Phil Melore, I am half-way through it and comprehending about 95% of what I'm reading. Most of the instruction and manuals from Red Lion and A-B are confusing and obviously written for someone with more experience and understanding than myself. Are there any resources out there that address and explain the "big picture" for a true beginner, like me? Thanks in advance for any and all help and