OPC Server for Siemens and Ethernet

Prince

I am working in a site with 8 PLCs Siemens S7 connected to each other through the Ethernet. for our new project I want to install an OPC server to grab the data from the PLCs and write an HMI software for the whole system. as I am a novice in this new job I am wondering if anybody can introduce suppliers for the OPC server software. I checked the products with Matrikon company but they do not support Ethernet communication for Siemens. Have anybody used another type ? Does the Siemens company support an OPC server software itself ?
For me it would be better if I can install a SQL server beside this software and work with SQL ...

thanks for the help

Check out Kepware.com. They have a server that does exactly what you want. It's simple to use, and you should have it working in no time.

There are many other OPC Servers as well, and I'm sure they will also do the job. Just do a google search.

I'm also experimenting a bit with UDP (doesn't require any additional software at all), but it requires modifictaion of the PLC software. The advantage of the OPC Server is that it is completely passive and nothing needs to be done on the PLC side.

1. Siemens DO have OPC servers. But they are more cumbersome to setup. Kepware is probably the best solution for you.

2. Sounds like you need some OPC middleware to make the connection between the OPC server and your SQL database. Matrikon, Kepware, and many others have this.

I have been using TopServer, from software toolbox for Siemens/Ethernet, and have found it excellent.

http://www.toolboxopc.com/

Actually, I'm liking TopServer more and more, as it lets me run a bunch of different DDE/OPC drivers in one application, and it has very good diagnostics.

The licensing is a bit cumbersome, but better by far than Siemens Simatic-Net, and you can run it to try it out for free. Just have to deal with a two hour timeout period. Download it and give it a shot.