lift station

jeffyech

has anyone done a lift station? I have lots of ideas but no experience with the application. if anyone can provide sample plc code, that would be great.

what brand PLC, HMI. What about your application. what have you tried to do and can show us??

i'm wondering about the best practices concerning monitoring and level error detection such as switch failure or transducer failure. i'm using an ABB plc utilizing their water library.

Our typical approach here is PLC or RTU for primary controls using a hydrostatic level transducer.

Backup controls we use either a little smart relay or just individual relays running off an independent 24V DC supply. The idea being that should the PLC or its power supply fail, we have a fully independent control system capable of running the pumps. The floats also are wired to the PLC. When using a smart relay as backup I program an output to act as a heartbeat to the main PLC. If no change seen by the main PLC, an alarm is raised.

I normally have a watchdog relay controlled by the PLC that when released, enables the backup controls.

Pump protection in backup mode is limited to thermal overload only .

In PLC control I generally monitor motor amps, pump run time and flow rate if available.

We typically do not stop a pump if we detect a fault condition. If it's jammed, the thermal overload takes care of things. If it's partially blocked then an alarm alerts the operator but we keep it going.

Standby pump starts at a higher level SP than the duty pump.

Generally most of our clients would rather rather have a tripped pump than an overflow. Environmental discharge here is a big no-no with much paperwork ensuing.

Other than that. .don't make it too complicated!