"The signal must have good quality"

KingPresident

I'm building an And function block for pre-process standby requirements. One of the customers written requirements is "Motor control must have good signal quality." I will be using a standard 4-20mA loop coming back from the VFD. I just don't how to code for that... I'm not asking to be spoon fed, just looking for a pointer. Thanks in advance.

There are "quality" codes associated with OPC data exchanges. The spec could be interpreted as meaning that the "quality" of any communication channel involved in motor control must be monitored. I'm not an expert in OPC, but google "OPC quality" for more information. Then go back to the customer and ask for clarification.

Ask the client to clarify. This may be more of a physical wiring requirement, i.e. using screened instrument cable that is properly grounded.

Or it could just be the usual copy-paste waffle that some consultants love.

It makes sense to me that a pre-process standby requirement would include checking the signal quality of the feedback loop.

Since it's a 4-20 mA loop, an open circuit will give you 0 mA and you'll know your logic should not go past standby.

If they were requiring this for discrete wiring, you would probably have to use an I/O module that did some diagnostic pulse-checking.

I think Ken's on the money. It could also be from the perspective of talking to a VFD via comms of any type - it's one thing to say "my Drive Healthy bit is on", but you also need to know that the data from the drive is valid - or "good quality" if your spec prefers :). A "Drive Healthy" signal is only any use if the drive is online and giving you correct, up-to-date information