Trouble with Modbus slave/Master in BCS Tools/iX developer

DCollis

Hello,

I am quite new to PLC programming. The master would be a Beijier HMI (iX T12B SC) and the slave a Beijier Nexto (XP340). I have successfully connected the two to my laptop via a westermo switch. I can ping and download programs to both. However I have been unable to actually get the iX graphics to do what I've programmed in BCS tools. For example, when I press a switch to try and turn on a bulb, instead an analog graphic will display a number (either 1 or 256). Or if I enter a number into an analog input, one of the lightbulbs will turn on. If anyone has any ideas it would be much appreciated!!

I think it's pretty obvious that these are the wrong registers i.e. you have them mixed up, if you are pressing a button & get 256 or 1 then that is bit 8 or bit 0 of the analog word
Same with the other word which should be bits you are putting in a number which for example 11 would be bits 3,1,0.
Modbus you sometimes have to reverse the bytes but if you are using words it would only give wrong numbers/bits not completely swap them around.

Thank you for your response, I believe I jumped in too fast and tried to do everything at once. I have reverted to simply trying to flip one switch to turn on one lightbulb as well as delving deeper into Modbus basics and how it works. As of now I am still running into issues. Everything seems right but I'm unfamiliar with these programs so it's hard to say.

SwitchLight.jpg

Modbus has been around for a long time but there have been many tweaks, some equipment that has Modbus as a protocol have done dfferent things, byte reversal is common for example If you send "ABCD" then some other equipment will see "BADC" another one is address offset of 0 or 1, so again an example is 4000 can be seen as 4001 I do not use it if I can help it but so many itelligent equipment suppliers support it.