Ethernet TCP/IP and Allen-Bradley CompactLogix (RSlogix 5000)

CAAJ

Hello All,

I am fairly new to PLC programming and really only know how to use the basic functions of RSlogix 5000. I have a new project I will be working on where the main goal is to interface a Weigh Scale and Pump using the Compactlogix controller. Connecting the pump to the system should be simple enough but, I am having trouble understanding how to connect our weigh scale to the system. We have the option of reading the Midrics scale using the Analog output card however we also have the option of using a Ethernet TCP/IP output card, which I hear can be more accurate and ultimately better for obtaining readings.

I guess my question is, how would I interface the scale to the CompactLogix controller using Ethernet TCP/IP, and how would I program this in RSlogix 5000?

Any response would help!

:)

Welcome to the Forum!

There are a lot of questions on the forum about weight scales and PLC's. If you do a search I am sure you will find a lot of info.

I have never worked with a scale before but here is my opinion:
If the scale manufacture has a Add on Profile (AOP) for RSL 5K then the Ethernet is definitely the way to go. The AOP will automatically populate the tags for the different parameters of the scale. You just grab the ones you want and go.

If there is no AOP then it can get a little tricky. Being a new programmer you might then want to opt for the Analog method.

I am sure there will be more experienced people that post as well. Maybe if you give us the model of PLC and the Scale model there may even be someone that has already done it and would be willing to share their code.

Good luck!!