Dealing with a rude contractor

Hi to all. I have just graduated from college last May and now have a job in a large chemical plant. We are changing some electronic equipment out in which a contractor was brought in to help out. I am new at this job and just learning how to do it. The contractor is good at what he does, but is very rude and a jerk to me. He told me I had put too much tape on the end of the communication cables and it looked like ****. I did not think it looked that bad at all. Also he told me I am too slow and need to hurry up. If he told me how to do something before a few times he gets mad and lets me know he had told me before. His excuse for being a jerk is that he is from the North East states. He is in a big rush for nothing. I had a talk with my supervisor about this person and he talked with him about being more patient. I have told this contractor that I do better when he is not *****ing at me, but he just tells me that it is the way he is being from the East. I told him that this is not the Eastern USA. I am about ready to tell him off. Should I just ignore him? It is hard to ignore a person when you have to work with them. Some advice about this please. My company supervisor and coworkers think I am coming along fine in my learning process. Thank you all for your advice.

Ignore him. His opinion isn't important and he is going far beyond what he is allowed to do as a simple extern contractor.

You are the one in charge of the plant, not him. He has to follow his custommer will and show some professional respect. If you can't just ignore him, put, you can start being extremely dilligent at controlling his work and not hesitate to make him do things again and again.

Last edited:
Being abrasive, critical, and rude is one way to get things done, and guys like that sometimes do very well as managers and foremen. It's just a fact of life, and you're going to work with some of them in your career.