Fanuc Robot & Festo CPX FB36 modular manifold

Dominator_JZX

Hi all,

First post on here.
I'm an automation engineer and I have plenty of experience with Allen Bradley, Siemens and Fanuc etc.
Constantly building automation cells and assembly projects in-house for the company I work for.

Anyways it has been put to me restore a pre-existing automation cell and install a Fanuc robot in place of a much older Abb robot (which is starting to give lots of trouble) to do some simple pick and place tasks with stainless steel product.
The robot I'm going to be using is a new Fanuc M-10iD12 with ethernet IP comms. I want to couple this with a Festo CPX FB-36 module to control all of the I/O and pneumatics side of things.
Generally speaking from a control point of view I would always use an AB PLC as the master and use the Fanuc robot and Festo module as slaves. But this time round my boss wants me to try use the robot as the master and the Festo module as the slave to cut some small costs and time spent programming. I can't see this working out well from a control and comms point of view and neither Fanuc or Festo could give me straight answer as to whether it would even work or not.
Can anyone shine any light on this before I begin the project in the next couple of weeks?

Thanks,

D

Caveats up front

I am on a bit of a philosophical bent today. I have no knowledge of the details of what you are talking about, and Iadmit that someone with experience might be able to say "I tried that and can confidently say that it will never work."

With that out of the way:

Summary

It may be worth doing even if you suspect it will not work, because you might learn something that outweighs the potential wrong-ness. It's a risk to be sure, so until it's done you won't know if it was a good idea or not.

Detail