SLC 500 communications error after download

stallone

Good day ,
i am new to SLC 500, i have a plc SLC 5/03 that had the battery go dead and lost the program.
I replaced battery and reloaded program using the rs232 df1 driver.
I did a successful auto configure and then i could browse to the PLC.
I opened the program in rslogix 500 ver 7.1.
I went to comms, system comms and downloaded the program, it completed successfully with no errors but when i try go online it says diagnositcs status failed 0x4 and also no response from processor at that path.

After i downloaded the program it pops up to say apply new configuration or dont apply and you could lose comms, i tried both options and have the same issue.

There is no fault on plc or anything but i just cant go online after downloading the program again, its like it loses comms after its downloaded.

Can you please see if i am doing anything wrong.

Using windows xp sp2 32 bit.
SLC 5/03
Rslogix 500 ver 7.10
Rslinx 2.55.00 classic gateway
using a rs232 serial usb convertor, non rockwell but its worked before.